Goals vs Resolutions

Doug Ecks
2 min readJan 4, 2023
Sunset in Paradise by Doug X

I’m not into New Year’s Resolutions. I used to joke about how can you improve on perfection and such, but I’m not nearly as egotistical these days ;)

So why then do I prefer goals to resolutions for the start of the New Year? I believe it’s because Resolutions are often open ended. Two of the most popular New Year’s resolutions for 2023 are “Lose Weight” and “Exercise More.” Goals are more specific and have end points. For example I have two physical fitness goals, one to be able to hang for 120 seconds and win a game booth at the local Renaissance Faire and the other to do 10 Chin ups. (My personal best so far is 45 seconds and 7 respectively)

You can exercise more but there will inevitably be times you exercise less. You can lose weight but there will always be times that you gain weight. And don’t get me started on weight being a range not a number or how muscles are denser than fat…

Whereas doing a specific number of chin ups has an end. I may well set a goal the next year of fifteen, and I may fail at that goal. It won’t change the fact that I achieved this year’s goal.

Anyway the idea of this post is to inspire you to set goals for 2023, beyond the obvious one of surviving the global pandemics currently raging across the globe. If you have some please post them in the comments.

My other top 5 goals are to handle another asylum case and pay off no less than four out of my five credit cards ;)

--

--

Doug Ecks

Doug Ecks, Esq is a lawyer and freelance writer for Whowhatwhy.org . He also writes novels as Doug X.